A NIGHT AT THE OPERA


Last Sunday, I got glammed up to attend my first opera at the Dorothy Chandeler Pavillion in Downtown Los Angeles. My first opera experience was Guiseppe Verdi’s Macbeth. I wasn’t really sure what to expect but I was blown away by the beauty and talent of the performers.

The opera is such an elegant event. I know from movies & pop culture that one should dress up for the occasion. I would have dressed up in a ball gown with elbow length gloves but instead, I found this beautiful lace peplum hem dress at Anthropologie (and on sale!) and styled it with my faux fur stole and vintage beaded bag.

I felt over dressed once I saw the other attendees. I stood out in the crowd, but I owned it. I didn’t care that I wasn’t in trousers and a blouse and I didn’t mind the side glances. I don’t have to apologize for being over dressed at the opera. I felt beautiful in my dress and that was all that mattered.

I ended the evening with a delicious dinner at The Sit-Down in Los Feliz. If you haven’t been, I highly recommend it. It’s a small and cozy Italian restaurant on Hollywood Blvd. They have many options on their menu and you’re even allowed to bring your own wine! The service was incredible and the food was delicious. I went for a simple pasta with grilled tomatoes, basil, and garlic and finished my meal with their crème brûlée (a must try!).

I had a positive first opera experience and I cannot wait to attend more operas in the future. (Maybe on my next European trip?) Have you been to the opera? Or dream of attending one?

DRESS: Anthropologie (similar)  HEELS: All Black (similar)  BAG: Vintage  

Leave a Reply

