TWENTY FIVE

TWENTYFIVETWENTYFIVETWENTYFIVETWENTYFIVETWENTYFIVETWENTYFIVETWENTYFIVETWENTYFIVETWENTYFIVETWENTYFIVETWENTYFIVETWENTYFIVE

Today I turn twenty five. I used to think that I would have my life all figured out by this age, but I don’t. The idea of a quarter life crisis is very real and is an issue that I know I have struggled with for the past year and a half.

One of my favorite YouTubers, Estée Lalonde, made a video about her experience with her “quarter life crisis” (watch it here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b4CP2YAfOn0) and I found myself nodding my head in agreement at everything she said. There’s a lot of pressure to set and accomplish goals around this age. I feel as though I am expected to have my life together just because I am older; but in reality, I’m in a constante debate around two questions: what do I want to be doing with my life and how exactly do I get there?

While I may not know the answers to these questions, being this age has been a lively experience. I feel more aware of who I am, what my interests are, what inspires me, and it has allowed me to do and try new things that I enjoy (like letting someone plan my birthday weekend instead of taking the reins). I am learning how to live the life I want through life experiences & exposures, taking advantage of opportunities that come my way, and learning from missteps that I take.

I may not have the life I envisioned for myself as a teenager and it may take sometime before it’s accomplished. But major life experiences have taught me that age is just a number. Everything will be okay.

TOP: alternative    SKIRT: Zara (similar)     SCARF: WhoWhatWear (alternative)                  Shoes: Sam Edelman (similar)    BAG: Vintage    EARRINGS: alternative

 

Leave a Reply

